The Monuments of St. John de Sepulchre Finklegate

St. John de Sepulchre has some interesting monuments but most are in the choir which is a sacred part of the Orthodox church and therefore special access need to be arranged. Perhaps the most poigaint memorial is to Mary and Lydia Watts who were sisters never separated other than by less than a day, when they both died.

Date Name    
1606-1670 Catherine Church (nee Qvarles) Monument Church Monument Church

Barnard Church
Held office of Sheriff in 1644. Mayor in 1651
Monument Church Monument Church
James Watts
Mary Watts
James Watts
Mary Watts
Lydia Watts
Mary Ann Yallop (nee Watts)
Monument Watts Monument Watts
Stephen Mear
Hannah Mear
Catherine Mear
Monument Mear Monument Mear
1788-1837 Ann Wall Monument Wall Monument Wall
1824-1842 Louisa Elizabeth Patrick Monument Patrick Monument Patrick


Churches managed by NHCT are highlighted in in bold below. Click to visit a church.
All Saints Westlegate St. George Tombland St. Julian St. Michael at Plea
St. Andrew St. Giles St. Lawrence St. Peter Hungate
St. Augustine St. Gregory St. Margaret St. Peter Mancroft
St. Benedict St. Helen St. Martin at Oak St. Peter Parmentergate
St. Clement St. James Pockthorpe St. Martin at Palace Plain St. Saviour
St. Edmund Fishergate St. John de Sepulchre St. Mary Coslany St. Simon & St. Jude
St. Etheldreda St. John Maddermarket St. Mary the Less St. Stephen
St. George Colegate St. John Timberhill St. Michael(Miles) Coslany St. Swithin